The Map of Itself by Edward Lee

The heart never stops loving,
it simply contracts
in splintered pain
when a sadness
taints the air
running though its chambers.

One should remember that,
when giving their goodbyes,
receiving them:

the heart never stops loving,
nor does it forget,
the map it follows
different to everyone else’s,
yet leading, eventually,
to the same destination.

Edward Lee’s poetry, short stories, non-fiction and photography have been published in magazines in Ireland, England and America, including The Stinging Fly, Skylight 47, Acumen and Smiths Knoll.  His debut poetry collection Playing Poohsticks On Ha’Penny Bridge was published in 2010. He is currently working towards a second collection.

He also makes musical noise under the names Ayahuasca Collective, Lewis Milne, Orson Carroll, Blinded Architect, Lego Figures Fighting, and Pale Blond Boy.

His blog/website can be found at